His Dark Materials: The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, The Amber Spyglass

His Dark Materials: The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman

I read The Golden Compass alone, before the movie came out, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The idea of each person having a Daemon in the form of an animal intrigued me. A soul outside your body that you could communicate with. The daemon could change into any animal until the person comes of age and then settles on a form. Since I enjoyed the book so much I decided to buy His Dark Materials. A book that includes all 3 stories. Unfortunately, as the story progressed, I found it harder and harder to stay interested. I started The Subtle Knife, and put it down and went on to more interesting books for a while. Then I decided to try again. This time was more of a success but still trying to finish the entire series was a bit of a struggle. You enjoyed the beginning so much and there were clues and things to draw you in and want to know how it ends. There were ups and downs but I didn’t really enjoy the ending very much.
If I did have a point system, I would give this series a 5/10. Its halfway, its not bad but its not good. Its hard to get into and keep your attention.

Leave a Reply

