The Complete Fairy Tales of Charles Perrault

The Complete Fairy Tales of Charles Perrault

I bought this book because I had never actually sat and read any original fairy tale stories. I have only seen the ones in kids movies and in Disney. Growing up you hear about them but there are so many different versions. I was unaware of how gruesome most of the stories are. The book includes: The Sleeping Beauty, Little Red Riding Hood, Bluebeard, Puss-in-Boots, The Fairies, Cinderella, Tufty Ricky, Hop o’ My Thumb, Patient Griselda, Donkeyskin, The Foolish Wishes, and a section about the stories and their origins. Almost every story ends in death. And some of them stray so far from the version you heard as a child. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend this book. I only bought it because I wanted the original (or as close to it) versions of childhood stories, and even after I was not satisfied. I much prefer the vamped up Happily Ever After versions.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s