It’s Too Late To Order Fries

I would just like to begin thanking my neighbors. I am not able to blog in my room, I had to turn the fan blowing the air out, and go to the living room. Unfortunately, that has not helped because the living room is also effected. (Clears his throat) Ahem… I would like to thank the academy…. No I am totally kidding STOP SMOKING YOUR GOD DAMN POT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well… now that that is dealt with.

Have you ever listen to a song and sang along without knowing what the real words are? Or perhaps you have made up your own lyrics because you can’t understand the song. This is known as Mondegreens. Mondegreens – A series of words that result from the mishearing or misinterpretation of a statement or song lyric. For example, I led the pigeons to the flag for I pledge allegiance to the flag. Thank you Dictionary.com. Here are some well known songs you may have done this with.

Tiny Dancer By Elton John
This song and the lyrics were actually mentioned on an episode of Friends. The lyrics are “Hold me closer, tiny dancer” and have been misheard to be “Hold me closer, Tony Danza”. Perhaps this was an early hint for us about his sexuality?

Purple Haze By Jimi Hendrix
I’m not familiar with this song, unfortunately, the only haze I am familiar with is the haze my stoner neighbors create. The lyrics are “ Excuse me while I kiss the sky” which are confused as “Excuse me while I kiss this guy.” Hendrix had often played with this mistake during his concerts.

A Twofer
Bootylicious & Independent Women By Destiny’s Child
Bootylicious – The actual lyrics are “I don’t think you’re ready for this jelly” but has been misheard as “I don’t think you’re ready for spaghetti” haha 
Independent Women – The actual lyrics are “The shoes on my feet, I’ve bought it”, but interestingly enough have been heard as “ The cheese on my feet, I farted.”

Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds By The Beatles
Strange enough song already they had to make the lyrics even stranger. “The girl with kaleidoscope eyes,” sounds like “The girl with colitis goes by.”

This one is news to me
You Oughta Know By Alanis Morissette
Apparently the lyrics are “I’m here to remind you of the cross I bear that you gave to me” when it has been mishead and I whole heartedly thought that the lyrics were “I’m here to remind you of the cross-eyed bear that you gave to me.”
I guess you do learn something new everyday.

Mysterious Ways By U2
I don’t care for U2, especially you BonoShades, but I had a good chuckle for this one. “She moves in mysterious ways” has been misheard as “Shamu, the mysterious whale.” (Shamu is the name of the killer whale show at SeaWorld)

Summer of ‘69 By Bryan Adams
“I got my first real six string” may sound like “I got my first real sex dream” But I would like to top that off with my own lyrics. “Standin on a mama’s porch” to me sounds like “staring at your mother’s horse”. Now if he has his first real sex dream and continues on to stare at your mother’s horse… well…. I guess that is none of my business.

Those are my favorite most commonly misheard songs. Now I would like to share some others, continuing from Bryan Adams, onto Avril Lavigne.

I’m With You By Avril Lavigne
This one is courtesy of Jamie, Sorry… and Thanks.
“There’s nothing but the rain, no footsteps on the ground,” kinda sounds like “ There’s nothing but the rain, no forceps on the ground.” I personally don’t suggest getting surgery in an alley.

Big Girl Now (Feat. Lady Gaga) By New Kids On The Block
This one is courtesy of Samness…again…Sorry, but thanks.
The song begins with “I’m a big boy, your a big girl now ow ow” No it is not the Huggies commercial. But it can actually sound like “I’m a pickle your a pickle now ow ow.”

Like A Virgin By Madonna
Now this is a tricky song. “ Like a virgin, touched for the very first time,” can sound anywhere from “Like a virgin, touched for the 31st time,” to “Like a virgin, f*cked for the very first time.” But then she wouldn’t really be a virgin….

These are just a few of the thousands of misheard lyrics out there! If you would like to add any to the list send me an e-mail!

Leave a Reply

