Oryx And Crake

Oryx And Crake By Margaret Atwood

I was given this book as a gift. Normally, I would not pick this book to read for myself. I tend to learn more towards happy fantasy, rather than doom and destruction. This book was really on and off for me. Starting the book, I did not know what I was getting myself into. I had no understanding as to what the book was about, I was going into it blind. Everything is scattered throughout the book. It jumps from times and people, it’s not that hard to keep up, but you are kinda lost at times. There are some things in the book that I did not care to read. I’m not saying it shouldn’t have been in the book, because it was there for a reason, but I could have done without it. I did enjoy some of the new “splices” of things thrown in throughout the book and the whole story was pretty interesting. The ending left me a little stuck. I wasn’t quite sure how I felt about it, and to be honest, what the heck it was suppose to mean. I did a little search and reading online and better understood. I thought it would be a more profound hidden meaning though haha. Oh well. Overall, I wasn’t overly thrilled by the book, but I never hated it either. It was a new adventure for me, and life without adventures is boring. I would call this an interesting read nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

