Paranormal Activity

Picture Courtesy Of Paramount Pictures



Warning: I
suggest you see this film, it is based on true events and will scare the crap out of you. If you plan on seeing the movie, do not continue reading, because it will ruin it for you, if you don’t plan on seeing the film, please continue.

Sorry to do that, but I think it makes the movie better thinking that, and so did the producers.

I think there is some trickery afoot here! I dunno about you, but I was mislead into thinking that this was based on a true story. They even make it seem that way by thanking the people and the police for the footage and having a picture of the couple dedicating the movie to them. The film is about an entity that follows the female character in this movie no matter where she goes. During the film, the boyfriend films himself and his girlfriend during the day with their reactions to the previous night. At night the camera is left in the bedroom and time lapses until the activity starts to happen. 

IT IS A WELL KNOWN FACT THAT WHEN YOU MAKE PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT A STORY IS BASED ON TRUE EVENT, IT MAKES IT A BILLION TIMES SCARIER THAN IF IT WASN’T!

Because of this, I think it makes the movie scarier than it actual is. I won’t lie, I was suckered into thinking it was real and let my mind over react. My mom told me that when I was younger, I would scream my head off in the middle of the night and stare at a corner in my room as if something was there. Which is similar to the movie, that she sees a dark figure in her room that haunts her. She also gets out of bed in the middle of the night and stands there or sleep walks. I use to have night terrors and would wake up in other parts of the house or wake up standing alone crying. Crazy stuff. Anyway, the events that happen in the movie are very creepy and the whole time you are thinking “Oh my god, this actually happened.” WHEN IT ACTUALLY DIDN’T. There are many alternate endings to this film. The film came out in 2006 and was shown at certain venues and small gatherings. During these showings there were different endings shown. By the sounds of it, I think I prefer the theatrical version that is being shown in the theatres. The other ones sound a bit far fetched, but if your watching the film and are lead to believe everything is real, you might just be more freaked out.

I enjoy watching scary movies, but usually end up sitting in the theatre laughing. This movie is very deceiving, but I must admit, thinking this movie was based on true events scared the crap out of me and that doesn’t happen very often with movies! So job well done, I definitely recommend this movie, it is a good time. But since you decided to read on and know it is not real, then it won’t be as good and as such you have sealed your own fate of non-funness.

Leave a Reply

