Twilight Saga: Eclipse

Picture Courtesy of Summit Entertainment

I love the poem at the beginning of this film. It is also at the beginning of your Eclipse book if you would like to read it yourself. But for those of you who don’t have it, which is impossible, but just in case.
Fire and Ice by Robert Frost 
“Some say the world will end in fire, Some say in ice. From what I’ve tasted of desire I hold with those who favor fire. But if it had to perish twice, I think I know enough of hate to say that for destruction ice is also great and would suffice.”
This poem was very suitable for this story. Eclipse is about the difference between the fire of Jacob and the ice of Edward.
Bella seemed strange to me in this movie. They changed her look. It was not a drastic thing, but with her darker hair and the way it was done, she look very much like Esme. Another noticeable change that I will get out in the opening right now is the obvious change of actors for the character of Victoria. We all knew it happened, but never really got much of a glimpse of how she will play the role. I was not very pleased. The original Victoria was a very rough and aggressive character. The new one reminded me of a doll. Almost fragile and trying to be innocent. Whatever the real reason for Rachelle Lefevre no long playing Victoria was a poor decision, on both Rachelle and Summit. I understand they would have to replace her with someone and I’m not sure if anybody else would have satisfied me. All I can say is, I’m glad she is dead and theres no more disappointment in that area.
I’m glad the wolves are back as well, and they have a couple more with them. The new character of Leah, I guess is kind of expected for appearance, but she was never my favourite anyway.

As a side note, Did anybody else think that Bella’s moms gift was a pretty cool idea? Finally! A solution to all those t-shirts people get you from trips.

The movie was long and it dragged in some parts. The chair was uncomfortable, so that was the only time I noticed it, but it was entertaining enough to distract me from ever thinking about the time. In comparison to the last film, they stuck around Forks. I really liked Eclipse. I wanted to say that I liked it over New Moon, but I think that is because I had just watched it and love Twilight. It was not until I started thinking about each film that the decision became more difficult. There are so many positives for both, and each have their negatives, but in the end the first and original Twilight film will always be my favourite. It made me fall in love the first time I saw it, and it continues to make me fall in love every time I watch it. The other films have more action in them to make them entertaining, but they don’t make my heart sing like the first film.
I was disappointed in the end, only because I did not want it to end. I am actually really looking forward to how they will do these last two movies. I wish I could have seen what a Cullen wedding would look like though. With “alice’s touches” to the wedding, I can imagine how amazing it will look, and how many ideas I could have stolen for my own haha. 
I also think that they will end part one just as the new character comes in to the story. I think they will try and make Bella’s situation look as questionable as possible. Then in part two, they will begin with the new character and the other characters for awhile and then bring Bella back to the storyline. I don’t mean to sound so vague, this is only for people who have not read the books, which if you haven’t…
W-T-F? Get with the program. I am also curious to see if the next films will bring more of the Volutri story. I also have a feeling that they will stray from the book just a little bit to add more of a fight scene that did not actually occur to make them visually stimulating.

Another thing that I liked about the movie is how they went into some of the characters pasts. That was one of my favourite parts in the stories and it was fun to watch. I look forward to the rest in the upcoming films. They also went into the pasts of the vampires history along with the wolves history, which made some good scenes.

I really enjoyed this movie and I obviously recommend that you see it, but it is hard to say where I would place it in ranking. I almost don’t want to pitch the Twilight movies against each other, because I love them so much and do not want it to end. Maybe once all the films are out, I will be able to put them in a ranking list of which I liked most. I have a feeling that Twilight will still be my favourite in the end.

 

Leave a Reply

