Return to the Hundred Acre Wood

Return to the Hundred Acre Wood by David Benedictus

This is the first Winnie the Pooh book to be published since 1928. It includes all of the original characters, with new adventures, plus a new character. I have never read a Winnie the Pooh book before. When I saw that a new one had come out, I thought it looked very cute and would be a good place to start. I remember watching the show when I was younger, so I have the general idea of each character and their personalities. The book had those same characters and personalities that I remember as a child so it was easy to fall into again. 
While reading the book, I noticed that it is a light read and easy enough for younger readers, but it was also a bit boring. I hate to say that, but it is true. Which makes me wonder, how children are expected to enjoy this story when it isn’t the most stimulating. It has done very well for itself and I remember I loved it as a child, so perhaps it is just the new stories that aren’t doing it for me. Or else it is the fact that it is a kids book, and I am not a kid. I guess the only way to find out for sure is to read this cute little book to my children and see what their thoughts are. Until then, you could add this book to your collection and see what your children think of it!

Leave a Reply

