Inkheart

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

You know it is bad when you don’t remember when you bought something, and what made you want to buy it in the first place. I’m going to assume it was the fact that the movie was going to be coming out. And of course you cannot just buy one of a series. These books have been sitting on my shelf for awhile. They were the last complete series I have, as many of my book series are incomplete and need to be filled.

I knew a bit about the book before I started reading, because I had seen previews for the movie. That was a long time ago, so I only had faint memories. I chose not to re-watch any so I didn’t ruin the book for me as well. While reading I was very interested in watching the movie, to see how they would make it and who they chose to star in it. Unfortunately, I did know that Brendan Fraser was the father. I think he is best left to things like Encino Man, and Blast from the Past, I was even willing to accept him in the Mummy films. Naturally, I will be watching the movie next so you can expect a review of that to follow.

Inkheart is a book, about a book. The father, Mortimer, or “Mo”, has a special gift that he has kept secret, until his past catches up with him and he is forced to face it. His special talent is being able to read things out of books, so you can hear them, smell them, and see them. Characters literally come out of the book, which can set your mind racing on all the amazing characters from books you wish you could read out of them. However, it is not always who you choose. In this case, the villains have come out, and believe Mortimer to be a magician. Sadly, as these characters came out, something had gone into the book. His wife was sent into the book, which is why he would never read aloud to his daughter for many years, until a mysterious guest arrives and she learns the truth.

I really enjoyed reading this book. I was not completely consumed in it, but I always wanted to go back to it. I felt that I just needed to know what was going to happen next. Cornelia Funke did a wonderful job creating a enjoyable adventure, full of entertaining characters and wonderful storytelling. I would recommend this book, hopefully my opinion continues to stay positive throughout the series, and I look forward to reading the next two instalments.

Leave a Reply

