Journey to the Center of the Earth

Picture Courtesy of New Line Cinema

Sometimes when I hear about something a few times in a short period of time, I take it as a sign to check it out. I had heard about this movie before when it came out in theatres. I had no interest in seeing it and it went out of my mind. Recently I had two people speak of it within the span of a day or two, so I decided to check it out. The film was released in 3D in theatres, which I think would have added to this and made it a bit more fun.

The film stars Brendan Fraser, which since I last saw him in Inkheart, I am beginning to like him less and less. Fraser is a teacher at a school. His brother disappeared 10 years ago and is presumed dead. He finds a book of his brothers called A Journey to the Center of the Earth. In this book there are notes from his brother. He makes a few connections and realizes that this book is the reason his brother disappeared. He decides to follow these clues in hopes of finding his brother. Therefore, he takes a Journey to the Center of the Earth.

There are some interesting things visually in this movie, as I said probably a lot better in 3D. I’m also interested in how much of the movie could possibly be true, to an extent of course. I haven’t begun believing there is an underworld. 

The thing that annoyed me most about this movie is the typical screen conversations. There are things in movies that people say and do that become so redundant. Things like when someones body is pulled off screen and the head stays on the screen, makes eye contact with the camera and is whipped off the side of the screen. “Don’t touch the……(object)” and the person touches it and something happens. These are examples from the movie, but just to give you an idea of the type of things from the movie. These things constantly happened, you could guess what they would say and what would happen before it did.

I think this movie had good intentions, but I don’t think it really got there. It was one of those movies that you watch sometimes out of the corner of your eye, and it is okay to get up and go to the bathroom or get a drink without pausing. The only benefit that came to watching this movie is the knowledge that there is an actual book that this movie is about. The book is in the film as well. I do not recommend that you see this movie. Feel free to skip it entirely.

 

Leave a Reply

