The Blind Side

Picture Courtesy of Warner Bros.

Normally I would overlook any movie that deals with sports because they are always the same and never entertain me. I have heard a lot about this movie, but never enough to peak my interest and make me want to see it. Sadly the biggest thing that made me watch this movie was Lily Collins. I had watched Priest to see her acting, but was not able to see enough. I heard she was in this one, so I decided to take a look. Unfortunately, again, you only get a small look at her acting abilities. I guess I will just have to wait for the “City of” films to see.

This film is based on a true story about an african american boy in foster care who is taken in by a wealthy caucasian family. The film stars Sandra Bullock as the mother, who takes Michael Oher into her home. Oher is very quiet and does not reveal much about his past. Bullocks character Leigh Anne Tuohy, tries to help him while finding out about his past. Because of his size he is expected to play on the schools football team, but in order to do so must get his grades up.

I enjoyed how the film did not solely consist of football and the team trying to persevere over some difficulty to come out on top and win a cup, like all other sports films. The film followed the life of Oher and the Tuohy family. I do believe that they had to exaggerate some of the things to make them more visually appealing for the film. But I think most films based on true stories would do this, because you are watching it for a visual experience and these things add to that. This film received some awards, as did Sandra Bullock for her role. It was a well made film and deserves those awards, but overall it was just average to me. I did enjoy at the end of the film how they had a video clip of a draft, as if the film itself is continuing, but instead of the actors and actresses from the film, it has the actual people. During the ending credits there are also pictures of Oher and the Tuohy family, which I think was a nice touch. I enjoyed the story and watching the film, but it is something I would probably never watch again.

 

Leave a Reply

