The Help

Picture Courtesy of Touchstone Pictures, Walt Disney Studios and Motion Pictures

The Help is a film based off the novel of the same name by Kathryn Stockett. I was interested in seeing this film, but it wasn’t enough to make me want to pay to go to the theatre to see it. I decided just to wait for this one.

I really like Emma Stone as an actress. I don’t think she is amazing when it comes to her acting skills, I just think she is a really cute girl and enjoy seeing her in films. What I mean to say is that she has a unique way of speaking and acting, that even with an accent it still shines through. In this case it works against her because it takes away from her 60’s texan accent and makes me think of her as she is normally. There is quite a handful of other famous actresses in this film, interestingly enough they all take the sidelines in this film.

The help is about Jackson, Mississippi in the 1960’s. A young girl who does not look to get married and have kids like all of the other girls, she wants to become a writer. She decides to write a book based on the point of view of the help. She has to get these stories from the help themselves, which is highly dangerous and could get them all killed.

Because of the subject of the film it can be very dramatic and serious, but it makes allowances for comedy throughout. I think this element of comedy helped win me over. I recommend that you see this movie, and perhaps now I will have to read the novel as well!

Leave a Reply

