The Adventures of Tin Tin: The Secret of the Unicorn

Image

Picture Courtesy of Paramount/Columbia Pictures

The Adventures of Tin Tin is one of those movies that you fear to see when you hear that it will be a new film.  They try to recreate it to be more appealing to a current audience.  I can see why they do this, but usually doing this ruins how great the originals really were.  I remember liking the Smurfs when I was younger.  When I saw the preview for the new Smurfs movie, I decided I do not care for them anymore.  The same happened recently with the Chipmunks movies.  And let’s not forget what happened to our beloved Care Bears.  On second thought, maybe we should forget what they have done.

The Adventures of Tin Tin, is actually referred to as The Adventures of Tin Tin:  The Secret of the Unicorn.  It was changed to the shortened version in North America, because we are a simple folk and don’t seem to care for details.  The film was based off three of the comics in the series: The Crab with the Golden Claws (1941),  The Secret of the Unicorn (1943), and Red Rackham’s Treasure (1944).  I remember watching the Tin Tin cartoon as a child, but I cannot honestly say that I have read the comics or known the stories.

The film was thought to be done in live action, but changed to computer animation.  In my opinion this completely made the movie.  I don’t think it would have been the same if it was live action.  I think it would have been easier to pick at things and see things that could not have been done live.  You also get the freedom of cartoon animation.  You don’t have to dumb things down to make cheesy scenes for Snowy with a fake dog or other extreme scenarios.    I was very impressed with the animation done in this film.  There are scenes that look so realistic they look like real bodies with animated heads.  I only saw the film after it was released onto DVD, but I imagine it being even better in 3D and iMAX.

There were many small things done in this film that fans of the Tin Tin series would have caught.  There were only a few in the beginning I caught, but I’m sure there were many I missed.  The voice of Tin Tin was done by Jamie Bell, who did an excellent job.  Thomas Sangster was planned to play the voice, but I’m not sure if I could picture this.  Andy Serkis as Captain Haddock was very good as well, but he is great with voices so you kind of expected that.  Daniel Craig did the voice for Ivan Ivanovich Sakharine, at times it was odd trying to picture him, but I could recognize it.  I like Daniel Craig as an actor so I had no complaints about his voice.  Interestingly enough, the character of Ivan Ivanovich Sakharin had a striking resemblance to Steven Spielberg.  I doubt this was a coincidence.

The only complaint I have about this film is a bit of the flow of the story.  There was always a mission at hand, then it was solved, great! Now this one, great, next, now this one, and so on.  I understand this is the general flow of things, but if you watch the film, perhaps you will understand my meaning.    I didn’t know how I would feel going into the film, but in the end I can say I am pleased.  I really enjoyed this movie and would suggest that you see it.  By the looks of things they will also be making a second one.  Then we shall see if it stands the test, or if it will fail like some projects when they turn into sequels.

Leave a Reply

