Katy Perry: Part of Me

Picture Courtesy of Paramount Pictures

Something interesting that I have never seen before, is the pre-show by Paramount. In honour of their 100th anniversary they played a scene from the movie Grease. It was a 3D sing along, and yes, people did sing along. It was kind of funny and interesting.

Katy Perry: Part of Me is a documentary, concert and 3D film all in one. The first film to do this was the Justin Bieber film, and this one follows the same pattern. You get a sneak peek into Katy Perry’s past and how she became a huge popstar. We learn of her gospel roots and her struggle to fame. She dealt with a few labels before landing the one that put her in the spotlight. This aspect of her life was expressed and talked about, but I felt it wasn’t really shown as well as it could have been. With the Justin Bieber movie, you get home videos galore and more growth even though he is much younger than her.

Another huge part of Katy Perry is her image. The whole concert and tour revolves around this Candy Land Dreamscape. It’s magical and wonderful. Some of it is a little cheesy but I think that is part of the appeal. I would have liked a little more into why they went this route, how they came up with more of the ideas. They touched on it but only briefly. Was this a concept that Katy always thought of? Was it planned out? Or is it just because it is an obvious selling feature. Either way, I admit I enjoy it.

The film touches on her relationship and break up with Russell Brand. It wasn’t much, which is fine, the less I had to see of him the better. It was sad to see Katy go through it, but she is a strong girl. I thought it was kind of surprising how there were no wedding photos or anything. I guess she just wanted this part of her life to be more private.

Despite the magic and the music, there was something missing from this film. It is inspiring to see someone else’s dreams coming true in such an exciting way. I just think with someone like Katy Perry who has been around longer she would have more to put into her film. There weren’t very many people to introduce and there were some scenes that could have been cut out and replaced with more interesting ones. I won’t be all negative. There are many things I like about these films. The 3D aspect makes everything look better and makes the experience a lot of fun. I was lucky enough to get the last pair, behind the counter, of the Katy Perry 3D glasses.

You get to experience the tour and the concert from backstage, on stage, and from every angle. The sound system in the theatre is also amazing which makes the music sound that much better. For some reason good music just sounds better when it’s louder. Something that is strange for me is that I never got Katy Perry’s album. I would get a handful of her songs and each hit that she came out with I enjoyed. I think Katy is very pretty, smart, fun and would seem like a genuinely nice person. It is a fun film and I recommend checking it out in the 3D theatre experience if you can. In the end, I have to admit that I enjoyed the Justin Bieber film more…Sorry Katy.

;

One thought on “Katy Perry: Part of Me

  1. You can definitely see your enthusiasm in the article you write.

    The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you
    who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

Leave a Reply

