The Secret World of Arrietty

Picture Courtesy of Walt Disney Pictures

 

The Secret World of Arrietty is based off the popular book, The Borrowers.  The film is made by the same studio who brought us Ponyo, Spirited Away, and Kiki’s Delivery Service.  My favourite thing about these films is the animation.  It seems with a lot of studios they are trying to create a more futuristic, high quality animation.  Films such as Finding Nemo, which creates beautiful ocean scenes.  As much as I love these as well, there is something amazing about the extreme amount of detail in this film.  This is something you can always rely on for this studio to deliver.

The idea for the film is based on the book The Borrowers.  Borrower’s are simply tiny people who sometimes live in peoples homes, and “borrow” things.  With being on such a small scale co-existing with humans it creates such a fun world.  Simple objects for us, become large structural items that are used in many unique ways.

Arrietty is the daughter of two borrowers.  Her family have been living in a home with an elderly lady and her house keeper.  When a young boy comes to stay, her parents are concerned.  Borrower’s are not to be seen by humans under any circumstances.  If they are seen it could cost them their lives, and in order to preserve their safety they would have to move.  Arrietty is curious about the world outside her home, as well as this new boy.  Not all humans could be bad, could they?

I knew that The Secret World of Arrietty was made by the same people who made Ponyo.  Ponyo’s story is based on the story of The Little Mermaid.  It is rather strange but was very cute and I enjoyed it a lot.  Knowing this, I knew I could expect another great film.  Although I had an idea of the story of the Borrower’s I was slightly disappointed by how the story played out.  My disappointment comes from me wanting a certain path I chose in my head for the film, and it did not go this way.  I know that I should not penalize the film for this, but it bothered me still.  I would have preferred the film to end my way.  The way the film ended leaves me with more questions and wanting to know more.

If you enjoy these types of cartoon films it is definitely worth watching.  As I mentioned before, the graphics are amazing and very unique.  The story is very cute, but lost a couple points for me, despite this, I still recommend you watch it.

Leave a Reply

