Abduction

Picture Courtesy of Lionsgate

Abduction is an action thriller film starring Taylor Lautner.  Many people have a bad impression of Lautner simply because he is known for the Twilight saga.  This isn’t a bad thing people, and I don’t know where this stigma comes from.  You wanna see some bad movies, check out my Movies NOT to See.  The film also stars Lily Collins, my up and coming Mortal Instruments star.  It also stars some familiar faces such as: Sigourney Weaver, Maria Bello, Jason Isaacs and Alfred Molina.

The film is about a teenage boy who discovers that the people he has been living with are not his real parents.  The discovery occurs during a high school project, where he finds his face on a missing persons website.  By contacting the site he triggers a series of crazy events and is on the run to save his life. Taylor Lautner does the action role pretty good.  I think the bulk gained during the Twilight saga definitely improves this image.  He is a good actor and you can see the effort he puts into his work, both on screen and off screen during award shows and other events.  Lily Collins’ image in this film is a lot softer than some other films.  Sometimes her hair is too dark and the contrast to her prominent eyebrows is a little harsh.  She plays a lot of the innocent roles.  For the beginning of the Mortal Instruments series I expect she will be the same until she comes out of her shell and starts kicking some demon butts.  The other famous adult actors and actresses in the film add to these side roles as they are not just filled with no name people.  Perhaps some negatives to the film is the storyline didn’t completely blow me away, but it wasn’t a complete dud.  And I can’t believe I would say this, but Lautner could have layed off a bit on the sexy pout.

I have to admit that I gave in to the negative stigma towards this film.  I expected it to be average, as I assumed they just made up a random film to be able to front Lautner as the lead.  Whether or not this is true, I actually liked the movie.   It had a decent storyline to it and, well, it wasn’t as bad as I was preparing for.  I would say not to totally discount this movie.

Leave a Reply

