The Fledging of Az Gabrielson

The Fledging of Az Gabrielson

 

 

The Clouded World Book One

The Fledging of Az Gabrielson  by  Jay Amory

” He became so oblivious to his surroundings that he didn’t hear the other person on the floor, the black-clad man, float up behind him on slow, stealthy wingbeats.  he didn’t even realize that the stranger was hovering at his back, close enough to whisper in his ear, until the man did just that.   One word.   Softly spoken.  A single syllable.   ‘Freak’. ”

Jay Amory is actually a pseudonym for James Lovegrove.  Apparently he was asked to take on a pseudonym to separate this attempt at child and young adult fiction from his more serious work.  This is but one interesting thing I learnt while searching about this book after I had read it.  There is actually a second book in the series.  When looking into this they have actually combined the first and second book into one book.   They even mention a third and fourth, but we’ll get back to this point.

The Fledging of Az Gabrielson is about a post apocalyptic world where a dark cloud cover has surrounded the earth.  In order to survive the people of earth took to the skies, building large sky cities that rest on giant pillars.  These pillars each contain elevators that are used to transport goods from earth up to the sky cities.  Over time the people evolved and grew wings, slowly forgetting about the world they left behind.  The machines were so self sufficient that they no longer required human help, and so the airborn’s lived in their beautiful sky cities out of reach of the darkness below them, and forgot the world below.  Our main character Az does not quite fit in with the rest of the airborn’s as he was born without wings.  Our story really begins with the opening quote from the back of the book.  Az is lost in an exhibit at a museum depicting people of the earths past known as Groundlings.  Az can’t help but feel a connection between these wingless beings, and wonder at their existence.  It is common knowledge that these beings are extinct, but after meeting a man with crimson glasses, what is known as common knowledge may not be the whole truth after all.

I have to admit that I really enjoyed the concept of this story, mainly the airborn race.  Some alternate covers for the book shows one of these such cities.  As for the earth below the cloud cover, I was naturally curious, but in the end I am still more interested in the winged people and the sky cities.

I respect authors and the amount of work that is needed to put thoughts down onto paper (or screens) and to create an actual book for others to read.  To be able to continue these thoughts into series is even better.  So I give props to the author for that.  Although I may not be the target audience for this series, I enjoy reading stories for all ages.  Going back to the topic of a third and fourth story in this series, I am torn.  I have never been the type of person to stop in the middle of a series, I have to see it through to the end.  Unfortunately, what I am torn about is the fact that I thought there were just two books in the series, and now I find out there are possibly four books.  Despite the fact that I enjoyed the concept for the story and the airborn race, what I have decided to do is this…

I have chosen to search online, or contact someone in the online reading community who has read these books.  I will then ask them to describe these books in as much detail as they are willing to do so for a stranger and move on with my life.  For most readers I imagine the gasps of horror while reading these words and I assure you, I use to be one of you.  This book will be kept in my collection as a remembrance of this.  I did not care for how the story was written, and thats not including the large amount of spelling errors.  That is why I think I would be able to just get a summary of the stories to know what happens instead of reading through them all.

I do not recommend that you read this book or this series.  If you do, or if you have already, by all means please message me and tell me what happens.  Perhaps if you have a small child they may have more enjoyment from the story, as they will be able to look over all the negatives and only focus on wanting to fly.

Leave a Reply

