Beautiful Creatures

Beautiful Creatures

 

Beautiful Creatures  by  Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

 

Ethan Wate is haunted by dreams of a girl he’s never met. When Lena Duchannes moves into his small southern town of Gatlin County, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her. And he is determined to uncover the strange connection between them, even if it means uncovering the one secret that could change everything.  1

 

The previews for this books film started to play more and more on tv.  I decided I had waited long enough,  I set aside the book I was reading and jumped on my good old ipad to get these books asap.  With only a few days before the movie came out I needed to at least get through the first book of the 4 book series to see what I was up against.

There is no escaping any such Twilight reference anymore.  Everything will forever be compared.  Beautiful Creatures is almost Twilight, but in reverse.  Our mortal main character is actually the boy, and our mysterious new comer with powers is a girl.  The book goes off the idea of Casters.  These are people with special powers and gifts, but do not consider themselves to be witches.  A caster’s fate is chosen for them, whether they are to become Light or Dark.  They cannot choose their fates and must wait to see what it decided for them.

The story takes place in a small town in the states called Gatlin.  Still living very much in the past, the town is frozen and set in its ways.  The main focus in this novel seems to be the towns roots and its emphasis on the civil war.  If the story is not focused on Ethan and Lena’s fate, then it is focused on the town and the civil war.  Although it is good to set the stage and give the reader a feeling for the place, it was a bit much.  Those were always the times in school when I would drift off into day dreams.  At the same time it is this backwards town and its inhabitants that add to the story.  The characters are witty, charming, unintentionally funny, and down right cruel.  There are those moments when you wish you could just jump into the story and knock some people around, alas I am a lover not a fighter.

As I am coming into this series late in the game, with all the books released, I was surprised to find out there were 3 more books to read.  The story in the first book seems to be leading up to these big secrets and reveals that it makes you wonder what is going to happen with 3 whole books to go!

I enjoyed reading this book, it did not blow me away, but it got my attention and intrigued me enough to want to read more and see the film.  I like when an author, or in this case authors, are able to bring wit and humour to characters.  It makes the reader more engaged, the characters more interesting, and it makes me laugh to myself which I love despite how crazy it makes me look.  There are also descriptions in the book that  made me stop and appreciate how they were written.  If you were interested in reading these books there isn’t anything stopping you.  You have the whole series to read instantly, and a film in theatres.  I am looking forward to seeing the film and completing the series.  I would like to think of this book as a good stepping stone to the rest of the series.

1. Book Summary Courtesy of http://beautifulcreaturesnovels.com/page/novels

Leave a Reply

