The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

Picture Courtesy of Warner Bros. Pictures

Picture Courtesy of Warner Bros. Pictures

If you have read my book review for The Hobbit, you would know that I did not read these books as a child.  In fact I only recently read The Hobbit and have never read The Lord of the Rings series.  I have seen the films though, and I enjoyed them immensely. 

The most notable thing about this film is that it is Part 1.  They intend to make it into a three part movie, which left me with a lot of question marks.  I could allow my mind to make excuses for two parts, but three seems a bit excessive especially when the films are close to three hours long.  It is not until you actually watch the movie that you can understand why it is three parts.  There are so many drawn out scenes, added scenes, and even added characters.  For Lord of the Rings fans, there are no complaints as it is nice to see past characters we thought we would never see again.  (Except you Frodo…I could do without you Elijah Wood.)  I’ve come to the conclusion that anything that seems off or added has been incorporated from the LOTR books (which I have not read) and added for a better film experience.  There is an enemy added to the film that was not in the books, that plays a larger role than expected from someone unknown (to me anyway.) As well as the character of Radagast the Brown plays a large role in the film, while not being in the book.

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey fits seamlessly into the LOTR’s films.  Despite any additions or splits to the film, it was an enjoyable watch.  I did notice that the film was almost geared towards children in regards to added humour, but still catered to the adults for the majority of it.  I only mention this as there is a very thin line between funny and stupid/annoying humour.  I was extremely pleased to see Smeagol/Gollum again.  He is by far my favourite character throughout any of the movies.

If you are a Lord of the Rings fan, then you most likely have already seen this.  If you haven’t, why not?  If you are not a LOTR fan, then maybe you need to give the whole series another chance?  They are great films for any age.

Leave a Reply

