Iron Man

Picture Courtesy of Paramount Pictures

Picture Courtesy of Paramount Pictures

I know Im a bit behind on this Iron Man train.  I never really jumped at the Marvel movies, but I seem to have a sudden interest in them now.  With the third Iron Man in theatres, I suppose there is no time like the present to start.  At least this way I dont have to wait for them to come out.  Unless there are more?
 
I was familiar with what Iron Man looked like, but I was not as familiar with his background story as some other comic book heroes.  Robert Downey Jr. stars as Tony Stark, genius and ladies man.  His father created an empire in weapons production and he has carried the torch.  It isnt until he realizes that his weapons are going to the wrong hands, when he is captured and held hostage.  With his immense knowledge and skills, with all things it seems, he creates a prototype to the armoured suit known as Iron Man as a means to escape.  Once a leader in weaponry to keep the people of America safe, he has now turned himself into the ultimate to ensure that safety is kept.
 
I dont mind Robert Downey Jr. as an actor.  I began to like him in the Sherlock Holmes films.  Iwould honestly have to research to tell you any other movies he has been in.  The thing Im not completely sold on is his character.  It is very similar to that of Sherlock Holmes, only less investigatory and more bachelor cocky.  He has the same know it all personification, as he does seem to know it all about everything, and speaks in a matter of fact tone and quickly.  It is also for this reason that his character is so likeable to most people.
 
I was surprised to see Gwyneth Paltrow who plays Starks assistant, Virginia Pepper Potts, otherwise known as Pepper.  I never watched any of the previews before I started to watch the Iron Man series so it was all new to me. She seemed out of place in this movie for some reason, but I’ll let her have it.  Girls gotta eat.  
All in all a pretty decent movie, despite some of the obvious cheese scenes which I normally love, but were a bit sad in the end.  It didn’t wow me but it was still an enjoyable watch.  I know I’m a bit behind on this so most of you have probably seen this, but if you haven’t now you know it is at least Chris approved.
Leave a Reply

