The Raven Cycle: The Raven Boys

The Raven Boys - Maggie Stiefvater


The Raven Cycle: The Raven Books – Book 1  by  Maggie Stiefvater

Blue Sargent, the daughter of the town psychic in Henrietta, Virginia, has been told for as long as she can remember that if she ever kisses her true love, he will die. But she is too practical to believe in things like true love. Her policy is to stay away from the rich boys at the prestigious Aglionby Academy. The boys there — known as Raven Boys — can only mean trouble.1

Blue Sargent lives with a house full of psychics.  She is the daughter of a psychic but she has no psychic abilities of her own.  Instead she acts as an amplifier for others abilities.  While out on St.Mark’s Eve, Blue witnesses something she has never experienced before, and it sets off a chain of events that could result in someones death.

Stiefvater creates wonderful and intriguing characters.  There is something unique that draws you to each of them.  Blue is strange and eclectic, in her looks, personality and possessions.  I imagine growing up with a house full of psychics would do that to you.  The town of Henrietta, Virginia is the place of a prestigious school named Aglionby, home to the Raven Boys.  The boys who attend the school are all known for their extreme wealth, as well as their condescending attitudes.  Blue vows that she would never be interested in a Raven boy, but her future involves three in particular.  There is something intriguing and entertaining about each of the three main raven boys.  Although there are hints and obvious traits that make certain boys the front runner for Blue’s affection, there are qualities of each that make them front runners for the readers affection.

Gansey is an obvious front runner as he has the looks, the brains, and the money doesn’t hurt either.  Without using words like “gold digger,” it’s the obvious advantages that come with the money that add to Gansey’s appeal.  Essentially anything you could ever dream of is at his instant disposal.  Everything from his  masculine orange camaro to his factory converted loft;  Authoritative, sensitive and smart, Gansey is Bachelor number one.

Bachelor number two, Adam Parrish.  Adam comes from a poor family, in a part of town exclusive to trailers.  He is smart, quiet, genuine and hard working.  By taking on multiple jobs, he is able to use the money to pay for the fees involved in attending Aglionby, along with a few scholarships.  Adam is down to earth and more relatable in his upbringing, which makes him a more realistic contender in comparison to Gansey.

Last but not least is Ronan Lynch.  Ronan is a troubled young boy.  He is constantly in the middle of all things bad.  He gets into fights, he is abrasive, rude and reckless.  He skips school, he has a large tattoo piece that covers much of his back and up his neck.  He is the epitome of everything your mother would hate in a guy and that is why you love him.  He is a bad boy, and from the looks of the second novel, will play a larger role.  I wouldn’t count him out completely when it comes to Blue.  I’m intrigued to see how things play out.

The wonderful yet unfortunate thing about the Raven Boys is that it is book one.  Don’t let this deter you, book two in the Raven Cycle is set to be released September 17, 2013.  Of course that leaves us wondering when book three plus comes out.  The Raven Boys is an exciting and simple read, and I look forward to seeing how the series pans out.  A great mix of mystery, fantasy and adventure, The Raven Boys is a fun read that will charm your inner tween girl.

1. Book Summary – Courtesy of Maggie Stiefvater’s webpage


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s