The Selection

The Selection by Kiera Cass

 

The Selection by Kiera Cass

 

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself- and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.1

 

Once again, my mantra of judging a book by its cover has found me another wonderful tale to add to my library.  America Singer, although I wasn’t completely sold on the name, is our star of the Selection novel.   The name reminded me too much of a horrible movie I only saw part of where the girls name was Americas Nation, enough said.   The idea of 35 girls trying to become a princess and to find out who this prince is was right up my alley.  It is surprising I don’t watch the Bachelor at all.

The Selection is set in the future.  The United States has gone bankrupt and China is owed too much money, they invade the United States.  The history is explained briefly, although there seems to be many mysterious missing pieces.  There are no history books to say exactly what had happened, only word of mouth.  Through many invasions, a victor was crowned forming the nation of Illea.  There are different castes in the nation from Eight (being the bottom) and One (being the top).  Each Caste has a set of rules that need to be abided by, as well as laws throughout all castes.  It is a very interesting concept, and plays a large role in the events of the story.  35 girls are chosen from all over the nation to part of the Selection.  For some it is a chance at true love with Prince Maxon, others for the crown, and some for the compensation that their families will receive for their time in the Selection.  The amount received during the Selection is more than some families see in a lifetime, others it is the norm.

America is torn away from her family and a boy named Aspen, who she loves.  When she realized that the prince isn’t quite how she perceived him to be, and her feeling towards him change, she is torn between these two men.  Both highly desirable in their own way, it is hard to choose a side to root for.

When I picked this book up, I went into it not expecting anything in particular.  I needed to pick my next read and I was in the mood.  Little did I know what I was getting into.  The teenage girl in me was released with all consuming power.  I found it difficult to put down, and when I was away from it, all I could think about was getting back to it.  This book cast a spell over me and I am eager to sink my teeth into The Elite, the sequel to The Selection.  I’m also looking forward to reading The Prince, a short novel revealing more about Prince Maxon, and a mysterious woman he loved before The Selection.  The only thing that could make this better would be for them to make a movie… Please!?

 

1. Book Summary from Kiera Cass’ website

Leave a Reply

