Crossfire Series: Bared to You

Bared to You by Sylvia Day

 

Bared to You by Sylvia Day

He was beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white-hot. I was drawn to him as I’d never been to anything or anyone in my life. I craved his touch like a drug, even knowing it would weaken me. I was flawed and damaged, and he opened those cracks in me so easily…

Gideon knew. He had demons of his own. And we would become the mirrors that reflected each other’s most private wounds… and desires.

The bonds of his love transformed me, even as I prayed that the torment of our pasts didn’t tear us apart…1

 

I was introduced to this book online, through comparative sales based on the highly successful 50 Shades of Grey novels.  Expecting them to be very similar, I decided to add the Crossfire series to my list of reads.

Eva Tramel is a young woman who has recently moved to New York city.  Although Eva has money of her own, and her mother is a prominent socialite in the city, she is trying to gain her independence and success on her own terms.  She lives with her friend Cary, a very attractive young man trying to make it in the modelling business.  Cary and Eva have a similar jaded past which has helped them bond and to understand each other.

When Eva takes a walk to her new office building to check out the place, she runs into the most breathtaking man she has ever seen.  Gorgeous from head to toe with piercing blue eyes and a rock hard body, Gideon Cross is a forceful and highly successful businessman.  Although Gideon comes on strong, Eva cannot resist him.  Eva and Gideon create a sexually charged relationship while their dark pasts threaten to separate them.

When reading this novel I was constantly comparing it to 50 Shades of Grey.  There are many key similarities, but also many strong differences.  The sexual relationship between Eva and Gideon is frequent and passionate, but not as nearly as raunchy as 50 shades.    Eva and Gideon have a dark sexual chemistry that is growing as the series progresses, but still dulls in comparison.

If you are going to attempt to read any erotica series, I suggest you stick to 50 Shades of Grey.  Despite the fact that I wanted to skip passed all the sex scenes, it had a much more thrilling storyline.   On to book two of the Crossfire series, Reflected in You.  As you know, I’m not one to stop in the middle of things and must see it through.

 

1. Book summary courtesy of Sylvia Day’s webpage

Leave a Reply

