Crossfire Novel: Reflected In You

Reflected In You by Sylvia Day

Reflected in you by Sylvia Day

Gideon Cross. As beautiful and flawless on the outside as he was damaged and tormented on the inside. He was a bright, scorching flame that singed me with the darkest of pleasures. I couldn’t stay away. I didn’t want to. He was my addiction… my every desire… mine.

My past was as violent as his, and I was just as broken. We’d never work. It was too hard, too painful… except when it was perfect. Those moments when the driving hunger and desperate love were the most exquisite insanity.

We were bound by our need. And our passion would take us beyond our limits to the sweetest, sharpest edge of obsession…1

The story continues with Eva and Gideon's aggressive and awkward relationship. Both haunted by their pasts they try to create some sort of stability. 

Normally in a series the first chapter or so give you a recap. "Reflected in you"offers us a recap on everything from the first novel throughout the entire novel. This does become annoying as one would expect you to at least remember some things. 

Eva and Gideon both struggle to have the upper hand, while getting jabs at each other when they are upset. The majority of the story consists of Eva pouting and storming off while flipping the bird.

I'm really starting to lose hope in this series. I appreciate their toned down descriptions on heterosexual romps in comparison to Fifty Shades of Grey, but the Crossfire Novels lack the story to back it up. 
There is a grey cloud that hangs around in the background, always threatening to create a devastating storm. This cloud could have been the saving grace for this novel by creating drama, action and a thrill. Instead Sylvia Day skirts around the danger making one think she is just building up to a climax. There is a brief moment of shock, but it is more shocking at how quickly the threat is diminished and how deflated we feel. 

I guess I am just a sucker for punishment and my inability to quit a series. I'm interested in knowing how the third novel, Entwined With You, will end but my hopes aren't too high. 

1. Book summary from of Sylvia Day's website
Leave a Reply

