The Raven Cycle: The Dream Thieves

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven Cycle Book Two: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…1

The second book in the series opens with a mysterious character known as The Gray Man.  Known for his appearance and his skills as a hit man this new stranger comes to Henrietta in search of something called a Greywaren.  Without knowing what he is looking for he searches for clues and gets drawn into Blue’s household and the Raven Boys.

The Dream Thieves includes all the same characters from the first novel, with the addition of Mr.Gray and a few others.  The main focus is on Ronan Lynch, which doesn’t offer a deep look into his character but it does make the reader more interested and curious about him.  He is the bad boy of the group.  His appearance warns that he is venomous but there is something in our nature that attracts us to him still.

Gansey is still our golden boy but he seems to take a back seat in this novel.  Despite the first book  opening with such a shocking revelation that Gansey would most likely be dead within a year, the novel focused more on others.  Adam Parrish is the down to earth poor kid, who works multiple jobs in order to pay for his education and make something of himself in the world.  Although he is friends with Gansey he seems to despise him for his money and place in the world.  Gansey has everything but he does not appreciate it the way someone from Adams upbringing would.  For this Adam tends to lash out at Gansey and as the novels progress it seems to get worse and worse.  Adam plays the victim as if Gansey is rubbing his fortune and situation in Adams face.  I can understand where Adam is coming from but being a big baby about it got really annoying, really fast.  He even takes it out on Blue, pushing her away and wondering why she hasn’t fallen for him.  Naturally he thinks it has something to do about money and has another fit.

The Ley Line becomes more complicated.  The search for Glendower is put on the back burner.  It is mentioned as if to remind us we are still looking for him but tries to distract us with other things.  Such as Ronan’s ability to take objects from his dreams turns out to be a rather common ability in Henrietta.  The others are known as thieves though, not like Ronan, he is special.

I’m assuming that the Raven Cycle is going to be a trilogy the way it continues to string us along.  I was into the first novel, but after reading this second one I am starting to have my doubts.  So many times there are things brought up that become a mystery later to be revealed.  Unfortunately, many of those things have yet to be brought up again.  It becomes a roller coaster when some parts draw you in and you remember what it was you liked about the first book, only to drop you flat on your butt.  I have a real problem with books that lead you on and on to an epic finale only to rush on a conclusion in less than half a page.  I had to reread the page to comprehend what had just happened.  It was not a shocking revelation, instead it was a shockingly disappointing end to a journey full of potential.

I’m was really hoping that the third (and final) book is able to bring all these things together into an exciting epic conclusion.  Unfortunately, I see that there are two more books expected to appear.  I can only assume the third book will string us along until the fourth is able to wrap things up for us.  Hopefully one that leaves everyone satisfied and so many positive thoughts that it erases anything bad that the second book (and possibly third) may have caused.  If you have started the series then you will have to continue on, but if you are able to hold off closer until the third (or possibly fourth) book is released then I strongly suggest you do so.

1. Book Summary courtesy of Maggie Stiefvater Webpage


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s