Overseas

Overseas by Beatriz Williams

 

Overseas by Beatriz Williams

“Amiens, France, 1916: Captain Julian Ashford, a British officer in the trenches of the Western Front, is waylaid in the town square by Kate, a beautiful young American. Julian’s never seen her before, but she has information about the reconnaissance mission he’s about to embark on. Who is she, and why did she track him down in Amiens?

New York, 2007: A young Wall Street analyst, Kate Wilson learned to rely on logic and cynicism. So why does she fall so desperately in love with Julian Laurence, a handsome British billionaire with a mysterious past?

What she doesn’t know is that he has been waiting for her… the enchanting woman who emerged from the shadows of the Great War to save his life.”1

 

I remember reading the description for this book and really wanting to check it out.  I added it to my list and waited some time before I read it.  Usually when I do that I forget the description or anything I knew about the book and just dive in blindly.  Sometimes this works to my advantage because it makes things more of a surprise.  There are so many things that are out of the blue and add to the excitement of the story that you find to be in the description of the book.

Overseas is a sophisticated romantic adventure.  It has qualities of the Fifty Shades of Grey series which are so popular, minus the kink and raunch.  The main character is Katherine (Kate) Wilson.  She is a young girl from Wisconsin living in the big city of New York.  She tries to start a career of her own on Wall Street, but she is up against arrogant and inappropriate men, conniving women and a co-worker named Charlie who swears like a sailor.  Charlie adds some comic relief to the story and despite being so vulgar I’ve grown to like him.  Our hunky leading man is Julian Laurence, insanely rich bachelor on Wall Street.  Although he is our leading man he has a golden halo which was a small grey cloud for me as I prefer the tall, dark and handsome heros.  When Kate is working on a very important presentation, she meets Julian.  When Julian recognizes her and knows her by name, our wheels start to turn on how he knows her but she doesn’t seem to know who he is.

The book goes from present to past and teases us by stopping at some of the highest points of action or interest.  You fight between the present and past for which is your favourite and wonder how the pieces are going to fit together until the point when they merge.

I really enjoyed the story and it came together nicely.  I wasn’t completely blown away by the book.  There were times when the conversation between Julian and Kate became a little overbearing, which is a lot coming from someone like me because I am a huge fan of the cheese factor.  This may have been because of the time periods and how people spoke, but I found myself rolling my eyes at times.  I understand the need, love and desperation, but the “No you were right, no you, no you, oh kiss me!” parts seemed a little ridiculous at times.

I had to ask myself while reading this book how british women feel about their men and if “American’s” have the same appeal as North American women who pine over british accents.  They must have a slew of novels with british women who are all swept off their feet by gentleman from North America.  Do these illusive men exist?

All in all Overseas is a great 1st novel by Beatriz Williams which I would consider adding to my library.

1. Beatriz Williams webpage book summary

Leave a Reply

