Divergent (Film)

Picture Courtesy of Summit Entertainment and Lionsgate

Picture Courtesy of Summit Entertainment and Lionsgate

 

Divergent is based on the novels by Veronica Roth.  I really enjoyed the Divergent book and the series was a great read.  There were times when certain things were questionable but I leave that to the author.

In most cases when there is a film about a book that I have read I am very eager to see the movie.  I was lucky enough to be able to sneak the film in especially during opening weekend.  Despite the fact that I went as soon as I could, there was something off in the whole experience for me.  The usual excitement and determination weren’t there.  I had caught a few of the previews and I was looking forward to it, but the giddy feeling and excitement seemed to be missing.

The film followed the book rather well, which doesn’t often happen.  There were a few things missing that I was constantly waiting to see if they would happen.  I questioned whether the events happened in the second book instead, but if this were true it would not make sense.

Whenever a book is turned into a novel, the first thing you want to know is who is playing who.  You want to know which actor or actresses will be portraying the person who had filled my mind with adventure and even fantasy while reading the novel.  Usually when it turns out to be someone less attractive we are usually disappointed.  Let’s be blunt in saying we expect the hottest of hots to whisk us away and are let down when the heroes in the movie aren’t up to snuff with our original images.  I’m willing to overlook many of these though.

Divergent is a dystopian novel and film.  We are thrown into a world that is completely new to us.  It makes us wonder how we would survive in those situations as well as if we would have even survived long enough to see these events come to pass.  Beatrice (Tris) Prior (Shailene Woodley) belongs to one of the five factions known as Abnegation.  Brought up to be selfless she questions her place in the faction.  Her thoughts and attention are constantly brought to the Dauntless.  Fearless warriors that many see as just plain insane.  Once making her choice, ultimately abandoning her family and the people she knew, she joins Dauntless.  Her fearless leader, Four/Tobias is played by Theo James.  The chose to become a Dauntless is not as simple as it first was thought.  You must fight to earn your place, and if you do not make it passed the initiation, you are forced out leaving you to become Factionless.  Factionless are people who do not belong to a Faction, depicted as helpess homeless wanderers.

Four sees certain qualities that attract him to Tris and as their city and way of life is attacked by Jeanine Matthews (Kate Winslet) they must work together to save their people and their city.  The film leaves us basically in the middle of nowhere.  For those who haven’t read the books it is a hanger for you to wait until the next movie to find out what will become of our heroes.

As much as I enjoyed the novels there was something really lacking from this movie for me.  I was not excited and pumped up as I normally am for movies based on books.  Dauntless is a very aggressive and action based faction, despite this I was very underwhelmed by the experience.  The time when things seemed most suspenseful was when Beatrice is at the choosing ceremony.  There are different film angles that show extreme heights that did effect me somewhat.  I am not a huge fan of needles either so the whole series always made me cringe.

The book series is worth reading and I highly suggest you check it out.  I would not let the film effect your opinion.  In the end I have to give the film an overall “meh” as much as it pains me to do so.

Leave a Reply

