Dear Life Stories by Alice Munro

20140517-204646.jpg

Dear Life by Alice Munro

Dear Life consists of 14 short stories written by Alice Munro. Munro is a famous Canadian author who has many awards under her belt including a Nobel Prize in literature in 2013. The book was chosen as our May 2014 book club read, otherwise I am not sure if this is something I would have picked up myself.

The stories vary in themes and settings offering an array of literary verses to tease and please your senses. Who exactly is being teased and pleased I have yet to discover.

I am not a fan of leaving a book unread. No matter how difficult I try my best to trudge through even the murkiest literary waters until I am free. In those rare, and most likely singular cases, where I were to abandon a book or movie I try not to offer a review because I am basing it on a fraction of the piece in question. Perhaps that is not the best approach and should be my duty to report on any item, complete or incomplete, to prepare and advise against certain obstacles to save you, dear reader/viewer, precious time.

This is my first foray into the works of Alice Munro, and likely my last. At times I feared I was reading the wrong book due to the and odd sentences that at times made no sense. I found no literary gems, poetic orgasms, or scintillating sonnets. Instead I found myself on a seemingly endless and pointless journey to nowhere with no reward.

Do not fret, if you have been tasked to read this novel and are dragging your heels through this literary sludge, I have discovered the key. The key to reading these short stories is not as difficult as you may think. Begin by reading the first line of the paragraph. The first line generally has the most pertinent information followed by literary yammering. Continue to the next paragraph and so on, simply reading the first line of each paragraph. You get the gist of the story without the filler products that cause bloating. If you have followed this advise and feel as if you have missed the key elements of the story, trust me, reading the story in its entirety will not solve this conundrum. I advise you to save your time and move on to the next story if you have the strength.

I do not mean to sound so harsh against what apparently is considered some of the greatest works of our time, or any time, so says The New York Times. Writing any story of any size it no simply feat and to receive such acknowledgement worldwide should be praised. But just because a funeral wins an award, doesn’t make it any less of a drab affair.

Leave a Reply

