Ignite Me

IMG_0370.JPG

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Juliette now knows she may be the only one who can stop the Reestablishment. But to take them down, she’ll need the help of the one person she never thought she could trust: Warner. And as they work together, Juliette will discover that everything she thought she knew—about Warner, her abilities, and even Adam—was wrong.1

If you have been following along my reviews for the Shatter Me series (or more oddly and less catchy, “The Juliette Chronicles”) you will know that my journey began Team Adam. As with most YA series with boys there are always two and we must choose sides. I didn’t make the rules, that’s just how it is. Things started to change in Unravel Me, and even more drastically while reading Fracture Me from Adams perspective. Could it be that our hunky lead is no longer our hero and we were falling for the villain instead?

Juliette’s powers are still as foreign to her as the day she discovered it was a “gift”. She has experienced many different facets to her abilities and learns more as the days pass. Her struggles are what helps to carry the story along but at times can be a little tiresome. With the inevitable war to come it was like walking on egg shells wondering who may die and hoping certain characters survive to the bitter end. Although there is much to be resolved when it comes to Juliette and Adam, the real story is between her and Warner.

Without any shame I can easily say I have completely jumped ship to Team Warner. From the beginning I assumed how the whole series would play out but Ignite Me has many exciting surprises. Warner is a very complex and confusing character. He is full of mystery and his actions are completely unexpected. He is very troubled and has a laundry list of problems, but somehow they complete his character. In spite of all the flaws, do I dare share that I think he is actually perfect? Perhaps I am just as mentally unstable as Juliette but I have fallen and am sad to see the story end.

One character I have not mentioned much,and I can’t believe I overlooked him so much, is Kenji. I even completed my review and posted it before I realized I hadn’t mention him! Kenji is the comic relief in the entire series and he just is more and more funny. He also is very close with Juliette and their bond becomes very strong. In Ignite Me we get a really great look at their relationship which creates many memorable moments in the story. I was also hoping a bit more development for the character of James, Adams little bother, but understandably he was not the main focus.

The trouble with series is they must always come to an end. One of the hardest things for an author is to be able to end an adventure to the likes of all the readers. I must admit that I have some issues with the way the last quarter of the book played out. I am reminded of the Harry Potter series. Seven books all leading up to the climax; one of the main reasons for our journey and the events play out in a single flash. Mafi was still able to end the series in a way that leaves the reader in the position to imagine how the future may play out, which left me ultimately….happy.

The Shatter Me series is a must read. Of course with the exciting news that it has been optioned for a film you have time to consume the series. Most likely it will be a three part film, maybe even the dreaded films 1,2 and 3 part one and two.

Thank you Tahereh Mafi for such enjoyable reads.

1. Summary courtesy of Ignite Me book page

Leave a Reply

