Courier’s Daughter: Defiance by C.J. Redwine 

Courier’s Daughter: Defiance by C.J. Redwine

Within the walls of Baalboden, beneath the shadow of the city’s brutal leader, Rachel Adams has a secret. While other girls sew dresses, host dinner parties, and obey their male Protectors, Rachel knows how to survive in the wilderness and deftly wield a sword. When her father, Jared, fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector, her father’s apprentice, Logan—the same boy Rachel declared her love for two years ago, and the same boy who handed her heart right back to her. Left with nothing but fierce belief in her father’s survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself. But treason against the Commander carries a heavy price, and what awaits her in the Wasteland could destroy her.

At nineteen, Logan McEntire is many things. Orphan. Outcast. Inventor. As apprentice to the city’s top courier, Logan is focused on learning his trade so he can escape the tyranny of Baalboden. But his plan never included being responsible for his mentor’s impulsive daughter. Logan is determined to protect her, but when his escape plan goes wrong and Rachel pays the price, he realizes he has more at stake than disappointing Jared.

As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can’t be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.

As many of your know I am one to definitely judge that book by its cover.  You would be surprised how easily I can pick out books that I will enjoy solely based on the cover.  I’d seen this series a few times but never thought anything of them until I noticed the audiobook format available.  I’d chosen to do both the audiobook and the ebook in the hopes of blasting through the series fairly quickly.  If you haven’t already done this, here is a tip when going to the book store, use your phone.  Overtime you see a book that looks interesting to you, snap a shot and move on.  This can be dangerous though as I usually leave with at least 10 pictures of books that I later add to my ever growing booklist.  Here is when judging the cover can get you into some trouble.  Despite the fully detailed description noted above, I had no clue what the books were about when I started.  That is another thing, once I add a book to my list, if it still looks good months later I tend to just go with it.  This means I don’t read the summary to find out more.  I go in blindly which creates so many wonderful surprises which the summaries can spoil.  There is one thing that could have been avoided though.  My disappointment.  For some reason when seeing the covers of the book I instantly thought, witch.  She looked like a cool witch and I was ready to get my witch on.  Boy was I in for a surprise.

Rachel is a product of her father.  She is unlike the other girls in Baalboden which is a blessing and a curse.  Her strength is threatening and it just so happens to catch the eye of the Commander.  Although he still views her as a weak girl, I believe he understood just what kind of a threat she was.  When Rachel’s father does not return from a courier mission and he is pronounced dead, she takes matters into her own hands to try to track him down.  Through a misunderstanding, Rachel believes Logan is not willing to help, but when a series of his inventions could be the answer to their problems, her rashness threatens any chance of finding her father.

The Commander rules Baalboden with cruelty and threats.  The citizens are trapped within the walls due to the cursed one, but they must live with their own type of curse within the walls as well.  The Commander makes a bargain with Rachel.  In order to save the ones she loves, she must locate the package her father was carrying and bring it back to the Commander.  Once the contents of the package are revealed, Rachel finds out just why her father never returned with the package and how dire the situation really is.  Though free in the dangerous wasteland, she has never been more surrounded at every turn.

Defiance has some really cool elements to the story with the mysterious cursed one, an archaic feel with a steampunk technology twist and some really great characters.  As previously mentioned, I was expecting witches and go something completely out there.  I must admit that this threw me off a bit and upset me.  Although there are great elements of the story, it’s not what I was expecting.  Even after shrugging off my lack of witches and focuses on the story on hand, I found it took forever for me to finish the book, even with the aid of both audio and ebook formats.  I’m not one to stop in the middle of the stories and have already begun the second story in the Courier’s Daughter trilogy.  I’m going to give the series a chance and hope the second book can help stir the coals a bit.  In the meantime, feel free to explore other options while I boldly go into battle to discover if the series if worth your time as well.

Leave a Reply

