Courier’s Daughter: Deception by C.J. Redwine

Courier’s Daughter: Deception by C.J. Redwine

Baalboden has been ravaged. The brutal Commander’s whereabouts are unknown. And Rachel, grief stricken over her father’s death, needs Logan more than ever. With their ragged group of survivors struggling to forge a future, it’s up to Logan to become the leader they need—with Rachel by his side. Under constant threat from rival Carrington’s army, who is after the device that controls the Cursed One, the group decides to abandon the ruins of their home and take their chances in the Wasteland.

But soon their problems intensify tenfold: someone—possibly inside their ranks—is sabotaging the survivors, picking them off one by one. The chaos and uncertainty of each day puts unbearable strain on Rachel and Logan, and it isn’t long before they feel their love splintering. Even worse, as it becomes clear that the Commander will stop at nothing to destroy them, the band of survivors begins to question whether the price of freedom may be too great—and whether, hunted by their enemies and the murderous traitor in their midst, they can make it out of the Wasteland alive.

In this daring sequel to Defiance, with the world they once loved forever destroyed, Rachel and Logan must decide between a life on the run and standing their ground to fight.1

Trilogies follow a basic pattern: Book one introduces us to the concept and the characters making us comfortable in our surroundings.  Book two is essentially always a stepping stone in the series.  It includes hardships and adventure, but usually tends to be pretty low key before gearing us up for the finale.  Book three of course is the jewel to the crown, taking off where the 2nd book has lifted us up, creating a thrilling and shocking climax and wrapping things up to satisfy the readers as best as the author can.  The Courier’s Daughter series started off with a rocky start for me, not completely winning me over just yet.  Although I was familiar with the characters and the environment, there was something missing.  I also had a misconception of the plot which distracted me from the story.  Because of this I went into the second book, Deception, more prepared and open to accepting the story.

The survivors are toddling along with threats surrounding the at every corner, and possibly even within their own ranks.  Much of the book consists of the survivors journey through the Wasteland and they try to make it to Lankenshire for asylum.  There are interesting references to landmarks and cities of the past that can be associated with current locations in the United States.  The story doesn’t go into too much detail, just ghosting over this area.  Rachel and Logan are fighting their own battles, while Redwine takes this time to build on other characters in the series.  There are so many survivors that there are only a core group that get mentioned, but the group expands a bit to make the story more appealing.  Redwine must do this because as I mentioned, the majority of the story is a group of weary stragglers toddling through the Wasteland.  There are times when characters are mentioned and have lines only to completely disappear leaving them forgotten.

As expected, Deception, as our stepping stone toddles along while giving us snippets of information to make things exciting.  The book doesn’t really start to pick up until the last quarter, and I must admit that once we took this turn in the story, it really started to peak my interest.  There are battles and triumphs, but there are characters who we have come to like that are taken from us!  One scene in particular really tugged are our heart strings.  There is also something that I had a hunch about for the majority of the book that is confirmed in the end.  As most readers when this happens, we tend to be a bit smug about it and so proud that we were able to decipher it so quickly, but touché to Redwine for her clever sneak attack to the revelation.

There is so much to be done in the story and so many possibilities and explorations that could still occur.  Despite all these I can’t help but admit that I wish the story would have ended.  Deception’s last quarter has peaked my interest and I will carry on with the series to see how things go, but I am more interested in the final quarter of Deliverance, than I am to trudge through the first three.

The Courier’s Daughter series is by no means a horrible series and deserves a lot of the credit it has received, but I seem to be having difficulties with the story really winning me over.  I am heading steadily across the boards of the fence, leaning towards indifference, but only time will tell to see which side wins me over in the end.

  1. Book summary courtesy of C.J. Redwine webpage

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s