Lunar Chronicles, The: Fairest: Levana’s Story by Marissa Meyer


Lunar Chronicles, The: Fairest: Levana’s Story by Marissa Meyer

Mirror, mirror, on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story—a story that has never been told … until now.1

The final book in the Lunar Chronicles, Winter, came out in November and as eager as I am to get my hands on it, I figured I should finally check out Fairest.  I instantly fell in love with the Lunar Chronicles while reading Cinder.  As soon as the next were out I snatched them up as fast as I could. I would have done the same with Winter but it seems the book does not have the popularity to trickle down to the department stores just yet.  I’m all for novellas and side stories when they come out for any series, but for some reason I was not eager to pick this one up.  After thinking about why, the answer was obvious, if not shallow.  The reason I did not jump when I saw Fairest was the cover.  The other covers for the series are beautiful, and although the cover falls in with the fairytale themes and does the story justice, there was something cheap about the cover that made me shy away, despite my love for the series.

We all know that Levana is the Lunar Queen, there are snippets of information given to us throughout the series to give us an idea of her character, but she still remains very much a mystery.  The Lunar Queen who uses her glamour to hide from the world has banished all mirrors and cameras from her presence.  Shrouded in a veil, she hides from the world never showing her true self to anyone.

For those who have, and haven’t read the series, we hate Levana.  She is ruining everything for us by hurting the characters we love and trying to take over the galaxy.  She is our villain, and as such we expect her to remain so.  Fairest tells the story of Levana’s youth, why she hides, and how she became queen.  Worst of all, or best of all, depending on how you want to look at the situation we learn so much about her that we may actually, dare I say, like her?  Pity her?  Ugh… way to put a wrench in it Meyer.

Fairest was available by audiobook through the Hoopla app.  Although listening and reading are two separate experiences, I love the way Marissa Meyer writes and enjoy reading it first hand, as well as having it read to me.  Meyer’s writing is enchanting as she takes us on another wonderful adventure where even the villains begin to catch our heart.  Great addition to the series and I cannot wait to finish it off with Winter.

  1. Book summary courtesy of Marissa Meyer’s webpage.
Leave a Reply

