Movies To See: April 2016 Edition

Movies TO See.  A compiled list to help you weed out the good vs the bad to save your time, money and brain cells. A link to the preview has been provided in the title. 

Before I Wake (April 8)

I don’t like horror movies because I scare too easily, but since Jamie likes to watch them I might as well have the opportunity to pick some decent ones.  A family adopts a boy who has a unique ability for his dreams to become a reality, but his nightmares become all too real.

Hardcore Henry (April 8)

I’m not entirely sold on this movie, but it has an interesting perspective that is not common in movies.  The film is an action, killing and gory film all from the first person perspective.  Everything is filled from the viewpoint of Henry, you see his hands, legs and whatever else he sees which makes it a bit disorienting but unique enough to peek my interest.

The Boss (April 8)

Oy vey!  One of the wealthiest women in the world, played by Melissa McCarthy, is sent to prison for insider trading and loses everything.  She moves in with her assistant (Kristen Bell) and starts a new empire involving young girl groups to sell brownies and teach them business.  Looks like it could be full of laughs, don’t let us down Melissa.

Mr. Right (April 8)

Ugh, I hate myself for putting this movie on the TO see list.  The movie really doesn’t look that great and I know for a fact I won’t love it in the end but I still would watch it?  The film was shown at the TIFF in September 2015 and is being released in theatres and on iTunes April 8th.

Barbershop: The Next Cut (April 15)

I’ve never seen the first two movies, but I imagine they are very much the same.  Not theatre material but perhaps Netflix.  I must admit that it was Eve and Nicki Minaj that really swayed me for this one.

The Jungle Book (April 15)

Loves me some Disney.  The Jungle Book was never my favourite film growing up and I’m not sure how I will feel about this one but it a must see.  It will be interesting with the live action aspect for sure.

Colonia (April 15)

Inspired by true events of a young couple, played by Emma Watson and Daniel Bruhl, who get swept up in the Chilean military coup of 1973 when Daniel is abducted by the secret police.  Lena (Emma Watson) joins the cult in order to try to locate Daniel and escape.  Not usually my type of film but I love Emma Watson and could be a very well done film.  Available in theatres and on iTunes April 15th.

The Huntsman: Winter’s War (April 22)

I loved the first Huntsman film and I am so looking forward to this.  It’s called the story before Snow White.  Charlize Theron makes a great evil queen. Threatened by her sister’s (Emily Blunt) daughter, Theron kills the daughter unleashing a power within her sister.  She basically turns into Elsa from Frozen and builds an army to fight her sister.  Also starring Chris Hemsworth as the Huntsman and Jessica Chastain.

Elvis & Nixon (April 22)

The story behind one of the most requested photographs in the National Archives of Elvis and Nixon.  Just reading this description I wouldn’t have thought I would want to see this movie, but after watching the trailer and seeing the cast it turns out it could be a pretty humorous adventure.

The Tale of Tales (April 22)

A magical film shown at the 2015 Cannes film festival is being released for our viewing pleasure.  Many strange things to see but it looks so fantastically fantasy based that I have to choice but to watch this one.

The Meddler (April 22)

Marnie (Susan Sarandon) moves closer to her daughter (Rose Byrne) to bestow her motherly advice.  When her daughter won’t take her advice, Marnie chooses to pass it on to anyone and everywhere she meets.  Sounds annoying but looks oddly cute and charming.

Ratchet and Clank (April 29)

Based on the video game of the same name comes an animated film with action, adventure and humour.  Nothing I would rush to the theatres to see but it looks cute enough to entertain the thought of watching.

Mother’s Day (April 29)

A star studded film which could be a hit or miss, usually these don’t turn out to be amazing, but they include so many famous people that you just have to watch them!

Leave a Reply

