Bridget Jones: Mad About The Boy by Helen Fielding

Bridget Jones: Mad About The Boy by Helen Fielding

My About Me page may boast that my favourite movie is Beauty and the Beast, but something you may not know about me is my favourite non-Disney film is in fact Bridget Jones’ Diary.  As far as sequels go, they never live up to the first, but I loved Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason just as much as the first and  I am beyond thrilled that a third movie is on the way.  The film is actually more of a prequel to the third book entitled Bridget Jones’ Baby, giving us an idea of what the film will be about but you can be sure the usual Bridget Jones antics will be there.

I never read Bridget Jones’ Diary one or two, and I cannot say why I never looked into them sooner.  With the availability and convenience of audiobooks I was able to experience the third and final book of the Bridget Jones trilogy.

SPOILER ALERT – If you have no idea what the third book is about, I suggest you stop reading as you could be very upset with what I am about to tell you.  It’s not so much a spoiler though, since it is in fact noted in the book summary on the book, but here we go.

Mad About The Boy follows our beloved Bridget Jones, but she is now in her 50’s with two children and sadly Marc Darcy is no longer part of our story.  Marc has died in a tragic accident, but one must read further into the novel to find out exactly how it happens when it is told to us by flashback documenting Bridget’s difficulties.

While Marc may no longer be in the picture, there are two new additions with Billy and Mabel, Bridget’s children. Billy is the spitting image of Marc in miniature, while Mabel follows in her mommies footsteps with Bridget’s oddness and charm.  Mad About The Boy takes us on the ridiculously hilarious telling of a day in the life of Bridget Jones while trying to get back into the dating game as a working single mother.

I was so pleased with the reader for the audiobook as she had an english accent reminiscent to that of Bridget (or I should say Renee Zellweger) and even able to do her laugh perfectly.  There were so many times listening to the book while driving that I had burst out laughing or looked like a complete lunatic grinning from ear to ear alone in the car.  Helen Fielding has charmed us again with Bridget Jones and am very seriously questioning why I have not added these books to my library yet.

Leave a Reply

