Silver Trilogy: Dream A Little Dream

Silver Trilogy: Dream A Little Dream by Kerstin Gier

 

Mysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yes, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially the one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys conduct dark magic rituals.
The strangest part is that Liv recognizes the boys in her dream. They’re classmates from her new school in London, the school where she’s starting over because her mom has moved them to a new country (again). But what’s really scaring Liv is that the dream boys seem to know things about her in real life, things they couldn’t possibly know—unless they actually are in her dreams? Luckily, Liv never could resist a good mystery, and all four of those boys are pretty cute….1

The wonderful world of audiobooks takes us on another adventure. Also brought to you by cover shopping I selected Dream A Little Dream by Kristen Grier. I was a little hesitant jumping into a series, not quite sure I would have the time to get into the full series, but also because of the fact that the rest of the story was not available on audiobook. In order to complete the series I would have to interrupt my paper book read, which to be honest I haven’t touched in some time. Dear spare time, please come back to me. I miss you.

Olivia “Liv” Silver and her sister Mia have lived in countless countries as they follow their mother who recently got a job lecturing at a school in London, England. The girls are joined by their au pair named Lotti.  The girls have grown much too old to really need an au pair but Lotti has become part of the family (and a source of comedy). Upon their arrival in London, Liv experiences a rather embarrassing moment with security. The moment is highlighted by the presence of some rather cute boys which is an especially sweet cherry on top of an already perfect moment. Liv and Mia, miniature detectives by heart, have already begun planning their next adventure at an old English cottage which is to be their new home. When plans suddenly change, Liv and Mia’s dreams are instantly shattered and their small family expands.

It’s not uncommon to have strange dreams, but Liv’s dream become very different from anything she has experienced before.  Following her possible soon-to-be step brother, she finds herself in a cemetery at night observing the boys in what appears to be some sort of dark ritual.  When she literally falls into the circle, the dream takes on a new tone making Liv hyper aware of the difference between this dream and her usual dreams.  When the boys from her dream begin to take an interest in Liv she is even more disturbed and confused when phrases and occurrences from her dream are mentioned while awake.  With her detective senses peaked, she digs deeper to discover the truth between the boys dark ritual, but only begins to scratch the survive of just how deep and dark this rabbit hole goes.

The best part about this book for me was the comedy.  There were little snippets here and there that I could not help but burst out laughing while driving by myself.  Although the story does hold some intrigue, we have barely dug into the real story with two whole books remaining.  Instead I found myself more annoyed at times, just as Liv is in the story,when no one will give her a straight answer, instead only half answering or leading us down a path of more questions.  There were many suspicions and opinions I had as to what would happen as the story progressed, some where correct, and I’m not quite sure what to expect in the next two stories.  It has been some time since I finished the book and I must admit that without the audiobooks readily available I’m not sure when, or if, I would even finish the story and I’m not completely heart broken about that fact.  The second book will only dilly dally until we can conclude the story in the last book which just adds to my annoyance.  I’m going to shelf this dream and let it solidify a bit more before I see if the path will lead me back to it one day.

  1. Book summary courtesy of US MacMillan Book page.
Leave a Reply

