Movies TO See: July 2016 Edition

Movies TO See.  A compiled list to help you weed out the good vs the bad to save your time, money and brain cells. A link to the trailer has been provided in the title. 

The BFG (July 1)

I have real problems when only one word comes to mind for the F and could not think of any other alternative.  It was a rather slow dawning moment to understand what someone meant when they called this movie the Big Friendly Giant.  Based on the novel written by Roald Dahl, I can’t say I ever read it when I was little but it looks like a beautiful adventure to behold.

The Purge: Election Year (July 1)

These movies are truly disturbing and whats worse is that they are actually good.  Now this movie would be in the same category as horror movies in which I normally don’t entertain the thought of seeing them in theatres.  With all the messed up people in this world, and all those messed up things that happen in these movies, I’m ashamed to say that I would actually be concerned to sit in a movie theatre with some of those people watching this kind of movie.  I guess that doesn’t say much for me if I liked the first two?

The Legend of Tarzan (July 1)

Watching the preview for this movie I can’t say that the story really does much for me.  My interest was only peaked when I saw that Christoph Waltz was the villain, and he plays a mighty fine one at that!

The Secret Life of Pets (July 8)

I think it was a given that we ALL wanted to see this movie when the preview came out.  Showing us the silly secret things that pets do while we aren’t home.  They have finally released the preview showing the actual storyline and I am so excited to see this one.  It should be super cute with some good laughs (and some cheesy ones for the kids).

Cell (July 8)

I’m intrigued because it seems like a zombie type film which I usually enjoy, but the people are turned by cell phone signals which seems more like a mental issue that could be fixed rather than a virus or disease but everyone’s first reaction is to kill everyone.  The Day After Tomorrow meets zombies.

Fathers & Daughters (July 8)

Well… A very lovey dovey sappy movie which just tugs at your heart strings.  It is hard to say no to this one.  Bring the tissues.

Ghostbusters (July 15)

Revamp of an old favourite with a new twist.  The main roles taken by women and some major comedy added to the franchise.  Should be interesting.

Equals (July 15)

The second movie being released on the same day for Kristen Stewart.  This movie reminds me of Twilight with humans in the setting of The Island (2005).  Wouldn’t catch it in theatres but I would be interested in seeing this one.

Tulip Fever (July 15) (now moved to Feb 24/17)

Set in 17th century Amsterdam, a movie begins an affair with an artist hired to paint her.  The idea of this film reminds me of something that I can’t put my finger on mixed with a little Romeo and Juliet.  Starring Judi Dench and Christoph Waltz I think this will be a really great movie.

Star Trek Beyond (July 22)

I’ve never really watched any Star Trek episodes or movies, but I know many of you are very excited for this one to come out.

Absolutely Fabulous (July 22)

The BBC tv sitcom is now a movie! There are tons of stars, and oh and did I mention that EMMA BUNTON is in this movie? Need I say more?

Nerve (July 27)

A strange new film starring Emma Roberts and the sexy Dave Franco about an online dare game that is live streamed.  Emma Roberts friends say she needs to take more risks, but when she gets trapped in the game, the only way out is to win.  Interesting concept and I would consider watching it someday but I’m not 100% sold on it just yet, but I am going to leave this one here for now.

Jason Bourne (July 29)

I loved the Jason Bourne movies.  I didn’t watch anything without Matt Damon and I am glad that he is back for another film along with Julia Stiles.

Bad Moms (July 29)

I’m torn.  This movie is going to be funny and full of crazy stuff, but there is also going to be things that go a bit too far.  I think everyone is itching to see this movie though.

Leave a Reply

