Movies TO See: January 2017 Edition

A compiled list to help you weed out the good vs the bad to save your time, money and brain cells. A link to the trailer has been provided in the title. 

Underworld: Blood Wars (Jan 6)

Surprised to see another one, but so glad that Kate Beckinsale is still the lead.  I loved the first one and I’ll always have a soft spot for vampires and werewolves.

Sleepless (Jan 13)

Not usually into dirty cop films (ha!) but when they add the kidnapping, action and big budgets it does help a little.

Monster Trucks (Jan 13)

A mix between E.T., Free Willy and Herbie the Love Bug comes a family fun movie about an octopus alien thing that tries to combine itself with a car becoming a half transformer to save our young friend and to break our hearts when he must go home to be with his kind.  Kind of ruined the whole movie for you, but this is on the TO see list for you and not so much for me.

A Hundred Streets (Jan 13)

I’m a bit on the fence with this one.  I’d say I normally wouldn’t see it but there’s something about the Brits that I love that makes me this it may be a gooder.

xXx: The Return of Xander Cage (Jan 20)

I may have see the first one or parts of it, but I do enjoy these secret agent action movies with a nice mix of story, action, comedy and money.

Split (Jan 20)

A movie starring James McAvoy who has 23 different personalities.  The film follows his transformation as he kidnaps a group of girls and keeps them locked up, interacting with the girls as multiple people.  I’m thinking James McAvoy will be getting a lot of recognition for this role.

Resident Evil: The Final Chapter (Jan 27)

You know I loved this movie when it first came out, but somewhere around the 20th film I stopped watching.  Perhaps I will pick it up again before watching the final movie….but the final movie was also 10 movies back.

A Dog’s Purpose (Jan 28)

Prepare to laugh, love and cry as we follow the story of a dog who is reincarnated into another dog after each time he dies.  We see the families stories that he lives with and I’m thinking they are all connected.  I would really have to question the person who sees this and doesn’t tear up.

Gold (Jan 27)

Based on true events about a man who at his bottom manages to find a gold mine, literally.    I imagine it would be a good film, but the likelihood of me watching it seems rather slim.

Leave a Reply

