The Call

The_Call_poster

Picture Courtesy of TriStar Pictures

I can’t believe this movie was released in 2013.  I still remember seeing the preview and thinking how good this movie will be.  I put the movie on the To see list and even considered seeing it in theatres.  Life, money and time got in the way and this one managed to slip through the cracks.  I saw it pop up on Netflix a few times, but never took the time.

The Call stars Halle Berry who plays a 911 operator.  Definitely something that you don’t think about, those people on the other side of the line.  They have to deal with so many traumatic phone calls every day all day.  The emotional toll it must take on every single one of them must be immense.  Shout out to them.  Berry plays Jordan, a 911 operator who happened to be on the phone during an incident that has shaken her to the core.  No longer able to handle the stress of the “hive” and the direct calls, Jordan begins teaching new recruits.  When one of the newer employees is unable to handle the call, Jordan must step in and relive the horrors she experienced before when a teenage girl (Abigail Breslin) calls from within the trunk of a car reporting her own kidnapping.

The Call just so happens to be on Netflix now which gives many of you little to no excuses for not being able to see this movie if you haven’t already.  As I predicted back in 2013, this is one of those movies that should be on your TO see list and frankly I am shocked I haven’t heard more about this movie since then.  The Call is so INTENSE I was on the edge of my seat with my heart leaping out of my chest even further.  I am actually surprised that I did not have a complete heart attack while watching this.

The Call is a must see movie and I highly suggest you set aside whatever it is you are binge watching right now and take the time to watch this.  Be warned, if you have any heart issues you may want to steer clear of this one.

Leave a Reply

